PDA

View Full Version : ENABLE ADMINISTRATOR'S ACCOUNT IN VISTA...


x-pert
07-06-2007, 01:31 PM
For Windows Vista Ultimate/Business/Enterprise:

1- Click Start, and type "secpol.msc" in the search area and click Enter. (You may receive a prompt from UAC, approve/login and proceed)
2- In the left list, choose "Local Policies", then "Security Options"
3- Set "Accounts: Administrator account status" to Enabled.
4- Set "User Account Control: Admin Approval Mode for the Built-in Administrator account" to Disabled.

For Windows Vista Home Basic/Home Premium:

1- Click Start, and type "cmd" in the search area, right click on "Command Prompt" and select 'Run as Administrator".

2- In the command prompt type "net users Administrator /active:yes" (Note the capital "A" in Administrator) and press Enter, you will get a confirmation as "The command completed successfully".

3- Click Start, and type "regedit" in the search area and click Enter, navigate to: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\System]
Double click on "FilterAdministratorToken" and set it to "0"


Now log-off, and you'll see new account named "Administrator" is available, click on it to login.


source: neowin

nabil
07-06-2007, 01:53 PM
thanx man. but da computer i use is my own.. so i am da admin.

x-pert
07-06-2007, 07:08 PM
thanx man. but da computer i use is my own.. so i am da admin.


No buddy.. Vista does not allow you to be the Administrator.. It creates an partially administrative account for you.. but its almost a standard one... ;)

By using the Admin account you can get rid of those funny messages and stuff...

dpg
07-06-2007, 07:14 PM
No buddy.. Vista does not allow you to be the Administrator.. It creates an partially administrative account for you.. but its almost a standard one... ;)

By using the Admin account you can get rid of those funny messages and stuff...

U can get rid of those "funny massages" simply by turning off UAC.. ;) (User Account Control)

x-pert
07-06-2007, 07:18 PM
U can get rid of those "funny massages" simply by turning off UAC.. ;) (User Account Control)


Bha bung.. Samahara eewa ehema nathi wenneth naha... ;)

Mehema admin enable kalla, admin widihata hitiyama ElaKiri... maara wada tikak karanna puluwan... ;)

gimhaani
08-19-2007, 11:45 PM
C:\USERS\JOHNYS~1>"net users Administrator/active:yes"
The syntax of this command is:

NET USER
[username [password | *] [options]] [/DOMAIN]
username {password | *} /ADD [options] [/DOMAIN]
username [/DELETE] [/DOMAIN]
username [/TIMES:{times | ALL}]

I got this, what to do with it?

nEoN_wHitE
08-19-2007, 11:47 PM
no idea about vista:lol:

gimhaani
08-19-2007, 11:48 PM
and this

C:\Windows\system32>"net user Administrator/active:yes"
The system cannot find the path specified.

x-pert
08-20-2007, 12:10 AM
and this

C:\Windows\system32>"net user Administrator/active:yes"
The system cannot find the path specified.


Dont use the quotes (" ") signs. ;)

ICE
08-20-2007, 12:25 AM
thax ban..

mata meka one vela thibbe...

mala karadare nathnam...

ICE
08-20-2007, 01:17 AM
C:\USERS\JOHNYS~1>"net users Administrator/active:yes"
The syntax of this command is:

NET USER
[username [password | *] [options]] [/DOMAIN]
username {password | *} /ADD [options] [/DOMAIN]
username [/DELETE] [/DOMAIN]
username [/TIMES:{times | ALL}]

I got this, what to do with it?

use a a black space to seperate Adminstrator and /

net users Administrator /active:yes

tckrockz
08-20-2007, 01:21 AM
Bha bung.. Samahara eewa ehema nathi wenneth naha... ;)

Mehema admin enable kalla, admin widihata hitiyama ElaKiri... maara wada tikak karanna puluwan... ;)
mona wage wada ban :eek: :eek: :eek:
n meka kiwwata thanks :D

gimhaani
08-20-2007, 01:26 AM
What to do with this? Please!

C:\Windows\system32>net users Administrator/active:yes
The syntax of this command is:

NET USER
[username [password | *] [options]] [/DOMAIN]
username {password | *} /ADD [options] [/DOMAIN]
username [/DELETE] [/DOMAIN]
username [/TIMES:{times | ALL}]


C:\Windows\system32>

gimhaani
08-20-2007, 01:32 AM
Ok, command is working, but there is no Policies in the current version :(

SAN_APIIT
08-20-2007, 07:13 AM
Thanks for the info X-PERT....

x-pert
08-20-2007, 08:25 AM
Thanks kiyuwata Welcome kattiyatama... ;)

nEoN_wHitE
08-20-2007, 08:27 AM
Thanks kiyuwata Welcome kattiyatama... ;)
ba ba ehema ba..wena monawa hari one:P:P:P

x-pert
08-20-2007, 08:29 AM
ba ba ehema ba..wena monawa hari one:P:P:P


Monawage deyakda ooni ubata.. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ICE
08-20-2007, 08:30 AM
ba ba ehema ba..wena monawa hari one:P:P:P

:yes: :yes: :yes: :yes:

x-pert
08-20-2007, 08:33 AM
:yes: :yes: :yes: :yes:


owu owu.. Ubala thank karanna epa... monawa hari aran diyan... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

nEoN_wHitE
08-20-2007, 08:34 AM
Monawage deyakda ooni ubata.. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
party ekak wage:P:P:P

cake kalak unath kamak naaaaaaaaaaa:P

ICE
08-20-2007, 08:37 AM
owu owu.. Ubala thank karanna epa... monawa hari aran diyan... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

me balahan ko..

umba me kohen hari hoyagena methana thread 1k dammama api umbata thagi denna one....:lol: :lol: :lol:

ICE
08-20-2007, 08:37 AM
party ekak wage:P:P:P

cake kalak unath kamak naaaaaaaaaaa:P

ali cake ekak:yes: :yes: :yes: :yes: ;)

nEoN_wHitE
08-20-2007, 08:39 AM
ali cake ekak:yes: :yes: :yes: :yes: ;)
ow ow ali ekak ma one...

macho xpert.. onna adilade idan meheta post karanna vadiya kal yanne na nee... so onna one hari da....

api kalak sydney also yawamu... anika ice ta SL;):P

isharackp
08-20-2007, 08:40 AM
thx for the in4... :yes: :yes: :D

ICE
08-20-2007, 08:46 AM
ow ow ali ekak ma one...

macho xpert.. onna adilade idan meheta post karanna vadiya kal yanne na nee... so onna one hari da....

api kalak sydney also yawamu... anika ice ta SL;):P

habai mata pus cake nam epa....:no::lol:

charmer
08-24-2007, 05:38 AM
Elakiri post. thank you very much for the info. works fine

see here for xp version of the same procedure
http://www.elakiri.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16762

sam@
08-24-2007, 05:42 AM
bohoma pin..bro.thanks

charmer
08-24-2007, 05:47 AM
Options for the Net User Command


/active:{yes | no}
Activates or deactivates the account. If the account is not active, the user cannot gain access to the server. The default is yes.
/comment:"text"Provides a descriptive comment about the user's account (maximum of 48 characters). Be sure to put quotation marks around the text you use.
/countrycode:nnn
Uses the operating system country code to implement the specified language files for a user's help and error messages. A value of 0 signifies the default country code.
/expires:{date | never}
Causes the account to expire if date is set. The never option sets no time limit on the account. An expiration date is in the form mm/dd/yy or dd/mm/yy, depending on the country code. Months can be a number, spelled out, or abbreviated with three letters. Year can be two or four numbers. Use slashes (/) with no spaces to separate parts of the date.
/fullname:"name"
Is a user's full name (rather than a user name). Enclose the name in quotation marks.
/homedir:pathname
Sets the path for the user's home directory. The path must exist.
/passwordchg:{yes | no}
Specifies whether users can change their own password. The default is yes.
/passwordreq:{yes | no}
Specifies whether a user account must have a password. The default is yes.
/profilepath[:path]
Sets a path for the user's logon profile.
/scriptpath:pathname
Is the location of the user's logon script.
/times:{times | all}
Is the logon hours. The times option is expressed as day[-day][,day[-day]],time[-time][,time [-time]], and is limited to 1-hour increments. Days can be spelled out or abbreviated. Hours can be 12-hour or 24-hour notation. For 12-hour notation, use am, pm, a.m., or p.m. The all option specifies that a user can always log on, and a blank value specifies that a user can never log on. Separate day and time entries with a comma, and separate multiple day and time entries with a semicolon.
/usercomment:"text"
Lets an administrator add or change the user comment for the account.
/workstations:{computername[,...] | *}
Lists as many as eight computers from which a user can log on to the network. If the /workstations option has no list or if the list is *, the user can log on from any computer.
net help user | more
Displays Help one screen at a time.

x-pert
11-08-2007, 06:15 PM
Elakiri post. thank you very much for the info. works fine

see here for xp version of the same procedure
http://www.elakiri.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16762

onna uba Ela kiyapu nisa aayith udata daanawa ooni kenekta balaaganna :D

Anusha
11-08-2007, 06:35 PM
Well, here in my PC, I have enabled the Administrator account and changed the account we create at the setup time to a standard user account. People should not be using Admin accounts for normal things. With UAC, now it is much more easier to use a stanard user account in Vista than in XP, because it pops up the message to elevate rights when needed.

However, UAC, by default, switches to a secure desktop before prompting to elevate the rights. This is the safest option. But it is very slow. However it is not really needed with a Standard Account, so we can disable it from secpol.msc.

x-pert
11-08-2007, 06:38 PM
Well, here in my PC, I have enabled the Administrator account and changed the account we create at the setup time to a standard user account. People should not be using Admin accounts for normal things. With UAC, now it is much more easier to use a stanard user account in Vista than in XP, because it pops up the message to elevate rights when needed.

However, UAC, by default, switches to a secure desktop before prompting to elevate the rights. This is the safest option. But it is very slow. However it is not really needed with a Standard Account, so we can disable it from secpol.msc.


Yeah that's true though :) machine will be more vulnerable to sec threats if you use the admin account.

Anusha
11-08-2007, 06:48 PM
Yeah that's true though :) machine will be more vulnerable to sec threats if you use the admin account.
Yes. That's why I'm so happy and safe withou a virus guard these days. It's been more than two months since I've completely given up on AV software :)

x-pert
11-08-2007, 07:00 PM
Yes. That's why I'm so happy and safe withou a virus guard these days. It's been more than two months since I've completely given up on AV software :)

But still it's better to have atleast some kind of an AV machang.

Common sense always won't work ;)

Anusha
11-08-2007, 07:03 PM
But still it's better to have atleast some kind of an AV machang.

Common sense always won't work ;)
It is not just common sense. I have tried three viruses on a similarly setup virtual machine and nothing like what the virus is supposed to do happened. (werid thing is that it didn't ask for elevation either....is Vista that smart?) The only problem maker is the....ahem....cracks. :D That's where the private torrent trackers come into play. They are virus free ;)

x-pert
11-08-2007, 07:07 PM
It is not just common sense. I have tried three viruses on a similarly setup virtual machine and nothing like what the virus is supposed to do happened. (werid thing is that it didn't ask for elevation either....is Vista that smart?) The only problem maker is the....ahem....cracks. :D That's where the private torrent trackers come into play. They are virus free ;)


Hmmm.... Interesting :)

Winows Defender is a pretty good tool I guess, which has an inbuilt firewall as well.

OR Maybe the viruses you tried are outdated... :lol:

Anusha
11-08-2007, 07:11 PM
Hmmm.... Interesting :)

Winows Defender is a pretty good tool I guess, which has an inbuilt firewall as well.

OR Maybe the viruses you tried are outdated... :lol:
Well, they were the viruses we find in our Computer Lab. :D

It has nothing to do with Windows Defender. Windows Defender is just an spyware blocker AFAIK. Firewall is separate from it as well.

x-pert
11-08-2007, 07:11 PM
Anusha, uba games pissane...

Kiyapan hoda Vista compatible games 2k :D :D :D

x-pert
11-08-2007, 07:12 PM
Well, they were the viruses we find in our Computer Lab. :D

It has nothing to do with Windows Defender. Windows Defender is just an spyware blocker AFAIK. Firewall is separate from it as well.

:lol: :lol: :lol: Oh I see... Moratuwa Uni's virus huh ;)

Anusha
11-08-2007, 07:17 PM
:lol: :lol: :lol: Oh I see... Moratuwa Uni's virus huh ;)
Every university in Sri Lanka has that problem.

Anusha
11-08-2007, 07:17 PM
Anusha, uba games pissane...

Kiyapan hoda Vista compatible games 2k :D :D :D
Wait till 15th for the Crysis and NFSPS releases.
Go for COD4 right now. I hated Bioshock though.

x-pert
11-08-2007, 07:18 PM
Every university in Sri Lanka has that problem.

:lol: Hell yeah !

x-pert
11-08-2007, 07:19 PM
Wait till 15th for the Crysis and NFSPS releases.
Go for COD4 right now. I hated Bioshock though.

All are EA ryt?

Anusha
11-08-2007, 07:21 PM
All are EA ryt?
I guess so. But I don't know...really. EA is the best without doubt. :D

x-pert
11-08-2007, 07:25 PM
I guess so. But I don't know...really. EA is the best without doubt. :D

Pffffffffft :growl: God damn 70 bucks :baffled: :baffled:

Anusha
11-08-2007, 07:28 PM
Pffffffffft :growl: God damn 70 bucks :baffled: :baffled:
There is the option of not playing the games...;)

x-pert
11-08-2007, 07:31 PM
There is the option of not playing the games...;)

There is another option of trying a torrent :lol:

Anusha
11-08-2007, 07:33 PM
There is another option of trying a torrent :lol:
No comments on that. :D

geethq
11-09-2007, 09:53 AM
daagaththa kaleka (lagadima) balamu

Tharindu DR
11-09-2007, 10:07 AM
Oya Vista Maha Gon OS1 Ban.......................

x-pert
11-09-2007, 12:02 PM
Oya Vista Maha Gon OS1 Ban.......................

Typing mistake ekakda...????? :rolleyes: :confused:

charmer
11-09-2007, 08:45 PM
onna uba Ela kiyapu nisa aayith udata daanawa ooni kenekta balaaganna :D

ela ela post eka. genius x-pert ge elama post eka meka thamai ;) i have used this method many times for my customers and i found it very usefull.

many thanks again
x-pert

br
charmer

Anusha
11-09-2007, 09:13 PM
Also there is another way to do this.

1. Right click Computer -> Manage
2. Collapse "Local Users and Groups"
3. Click on Users
4. On the right hand side pane, right click on Administrator, click Properties
5. Uncheck "Account is disabled"

charmer
11-11-2007, 03:37 AM
Also you can give administrative powers to users by adding them to different groups such as administrotors, power users, backup operators..

Anusha
11-11-2007, 06:39 AM
Also you can give administrative powers to users by adding them to different groups such as administrotors, power users, backup operators..
True, but it doesn't still give the true administrative powers as the Administrator account.

virajvithanage
11-11-2007, 08:30 AM
Elakiri infomation thaanx!!

charmer
11-12-2007, 02:07 AM
True, but it doesn't still give the true administrative powers as the Administrator account.

thanks for the info anusha

charmer
04-19-2008, 02:58 PM
very useful thread every time